Learning to network

November 2, 2006

Coming down?

Filed under: Privacy — Arthur M. Gallagher @ 3:39 pm

Hmmmm, I think the initial high of “going public will take you places” has worn off. I have started to have cold feet about putting information about myself into the public domain. Its not just about what my current privacy settings are, its also about what they have been in the past.

If you’re not sure about what I mean, think about search engine caches, and tools like the Internet Way Back Machine at http://web.archive.org/ – I have used them in the past to access information that site owners have since torn down, but I am hesitant now I think about people using them “against” me.

With the degree of record retention in the modern world a choice to go public is to a certain extent irrevocable . . . so whilst I ponder a little longer what I want to be on my public facing pages, I have just turned my LinkedIn public profile back to basic.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

