Learning to network

December 29, 2006

Why did I become a multiblogging host slut?

Filed under: Publishing, Social Media, Technologies — Arthur M. Gallagher @ 5:44 pm

Information Dynamics sounds like a real conversation stopper. This is, however, the best title I have found so far to encompass the field I have been growing more interested in over the past year or three. I have had such a bee in my bonnet for the last few weeks that I have decided I need to do some more serious research. Realising that my “Learning to Network” model of

  1. tracing my voyage,
  2. creating an audit history of interesting discoverys, and
  3. sharing them with whoever might be interested

actually works well, I have decided to create a new blog dedicated to the new subject.

The big question is “Where should I host my new blog?”

Of course the sensible answer would have been “with wordpress, to leverage your existing experience, avoid duplicating accounts, because you know and trust it”. But that is not very innovative.

So I have chosen to be disruptive, and go for a completely different provider that does not use an open source platform. Actually, I am being very conformative, as I’m picking what appears to be the most popular – Blogger. Well, its certainly the most mentioned, so it will end up being the most popular if the people who run it don’t do something really stupid.

At least by choosing to be a host slut I will get a better idea of the different features, options and possibilities offered by different systems. And as long as it meets my key criteria I am not yet too fussed (until I become an expert in the market of available hosts 😉 )

  • Free hosting
  • Can easily export All posts for posterity and portability
  • Can write posts with Performancing for Firefox
  • Offers RSS or ATOM so that I can “burn” the feed

And if you aren’t worried about being cornered in the hallway by the worst geek at the party, you might like to try looking at what http://InformationDynamics.blogspot.com/ is actually all about.

1 Comment »

  1. Oh, and as a “get out of jail free card” I am saving this URL http://weblogs.about.com/od/weblogsoftwareandhosts/a/bloggertoMT.htm for exporting Blogger to MovableType

    Comment by artemgy — December 29, 2006 @ 5:45 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

