Learning to network

January 31, 2007

Let’s be honest – I am looking for work!

Filed under: career, Manage my network — Arthur M. Gallagher @ 3:14 pm

Well, I’m not sure if its obvious, but a major reason for me starting on my current drive into the world of Networking was to increase my chances of finding work in the future. Career Management is becoming a more common focus of my reading at the moment, because I am increasingly interested in finding a new contract (yep, you’ve guess it, my current contract is up for renewal fairly soon). I guess its remiss of me not to have tagged more posts in this blog as “career” releated, but better late than never.

I rate the advice that David Perry gives in his Guerrilla Job Hunting blog, and so I was pleased to see his review of online social networking tools from a jobseekers point of view (Guerrilla Job Hunting: the Key to Networking).

Nestling towards the end of his article is a link to Liz Ryan’s article The Social Networking Weblog: For Job-Hunters: How to Find a Contact Name Inside a Target Company. So now all you need to do is work out what job you want, which company you want to do it for, and you know how to do the rest. 😀

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

