Learning to network

January 8, 2009

One-trepreneur: running a Company Of One

Filed under: career — Arthur M. Gallagher @ 4:12 pm

Towards the end of last year I considered starting a business. Following some valuable conversations with other entrepreneurs I made the choice to stick at being a company of one, for the time being. The simple reason is that, for now, I choose to place my parental responsibilities higher than any other responsibilities to employees to a larger customer base or to official authorities.

I’m sure you can understand how I could get far more pleasure from teaching my four young children new games, activities and skills, rather than sweating day and night laser-focused on building a successful business. The fact is that right now they’re all at an age where they enjoy and crave my attention, and there’ll be plenty of time for me to think about commercial growth once they’ve all turned into teenagers and turned their backs on uncool old dad.

So I plan to focus on client projects as a skilled individual resource, making a singular commitment as a professional rather than spreading myself as business owner over a wider range of responsibilities. However that does not mean to say that I don’t desire to learn and develop my company of one. In fact there are plenty of areas in direction,marketing and in operations where it is important for me to improve and grow.

That is why I am choosing to be a Onetrepreneur, an enterprising business focused around a single person.

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Art

    A goal is a goal is a goal no matter what. Decision made is 100% better than keeping doubting yes/no/perhaps.
    Presumably you now also get more focus on all tasks ahead (including time with your young children ;-))

    BTW: does your thinking make our business us a Twotrepreneurs? 😉

    Karin H. (Keep It Simple Sweetheart, specially in business)

    Comment by Karin H. — January 9, 2009 @ 11:40 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

